Life in the Uk Crib Sheet Chapter 1&2

The fundamental principles of British life include:
The rule of law
Individual liberty
Tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs
Participation in community life.

The pledge is:
‘I will give my loyalty to the United Kingdom and respect its rights and freedoms.
I will uphold its democratic values.
I will observe its laws faithfully and fulfil my duties and obligations as a British citizen.’

If you wish to be a permanent resident or citizen of the UK, you should:
Respect and obey the law
Respect the rights of others, including their right to their own opinions
Treat others with fairness
Look after yourself and your family
Look after the area in which you live and the environment.

In return, the UK offers:
Freedom of belief and religion
Freedom of speech
Freedom from unfair discrimination
A right to a fair trial
A right to join in the election of a government.

To apply to become a permanent resident or citizen of the UK, you will need to:
Speak and read English
Have a good understanding of life in the UK.

The UK is made up of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
The official name of the country is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
Great Britain’ refers only to England, Scotland and Wales, not to Northern Ireland.
Crown dependencies’: the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man.
There are also several British overseas territories in other parts of the world, such as St Helena and the Falkland Islands.